Who Voted How On California SB 1221

Share Button

On Monday, May 21, 2012, the California Senate voted to ban bear and bobcat hunting with hounds. The bill – SB 1221 – was sponsored by the world’s largest anti-hunting organization, the Humane Society of the United States (HSUS).

The vote was 22 in favor and 15 opposed.

Here is the breakdown of how each Senator voted:

Partisan Vote Breakdown
2 voted Yes, 11 voted No, 2 did not vote
20 voted Yes, 4 voted No, 1 did not vot

Senators Voting YES:
Senator Elaine Alquist (D-13) – YES
Senator Ron Calderon (D-30) – YES
Senator Ellen Corbett (D-10) – YES
Senator Kevin de León (D-22) – YES
Senator Mark DeSaulnier (D-07) – YES
Senator Bill Emmerson (R-37) – YES
Senator Loni Hancock (D-09) – YES
Senator Ed Hernandez (D-24) – YES
Senator Christine Kehoe (D-39) – YES
Senator Mark Leno (D-03) – YES
Senator Ted Lieu (D-28) – YES
Senator Carol Liu (D-21) – YES
Senator Alan Lowenthal (D-27) – YES
Senator Gloria Negrete McLeod (D-32) – YES
Senator Alex Padilla (D-20) – YES
Senator Fran Pavley (D-23) – YES
Senator Curren D. Price, Jr. (D-26) – YES
Senator Joe Simitian (D-11) – YES
Senator Darrell Steinberg (D-06) – YES
Senator Tony Strickland (R-19) – YES
Senator Juan Vargas (D-40) – YES
Senator Leland Y. Yee (D-08) – YES

Senators Voting NO:
Senator Joel Anderson (R-36) – NO
Senator Tom Berryhill (R-14) – NO
Senator Sam Blakeslee (R-15) – NO
Senator Anthony Cannella (R-12) – NO
Senator Bob Dutton (R-31) – NO
Senator Noreen Evans (D-02) – NO
Senator Jean Fuller (R-18) – NO
Senator Ted Gaines (R-01) – NO
Senator Bob Huff (R-29) – NO
Senator Doug La Malfa (R-04) – NO
Senator Michael Rubio (D-16) – NO
Senator Mimi Walters (R-33) – NO
Senator Lois Wolk (D-05) – NO
Senator Roderick D. Wright (D-25) – NO
Senator Mark Wyland (R-38) – NO

Senators That Did Not Vote:
Senator Lou Correa (D-34) – Did Not Vote
Senator Tom Harman (R-35) – Did Not Vote
Senator Sharon Runner (R-17) – Did Not Vote